Monday , April 24 2017
Home > Illinois Marijuana News > Illinois Implements a New Marijuana Possession Law

Illinois Implements a New Marijuana Possession Law

Cannabis IL

A new law went into effect on January 1 in Illinois: possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana won’t send you directly to jail; instead, you’ll get a ticket.

The old law would have sent you to jail for up to six months, according to Chicago Patch.  Fines for simple marijuana possession have now dropped from up to $1,500, even on a first offense, to just $100 to $200. The amount of your fine will be dependent on accompanying charges, prior convictions and your general behavior during your interaction with law enforcement.

Going even further, the state is also putting patient rights first. Regardless of a medical provider’s particular religious beliefs, patients cannot be denied treatment option information.

Prosecutors will spend more time on buckling down on synthetic drugs like “Spice,” “K2,” bath salts and other synthetic options. This is in an effort to crack down on convenience stores and gas stations selling the synthetic drugs. Retailers may be fined up to $150,000 and loss of business licenses.