IL Marijuana Laws
IL Medical Marijuana Law
Illinois’s Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act was passed in 2013 and allows Illinois residents with at least one qualifying medical condition to become a medical marijuana patient with a recommendation from their doctor. Illinois medical marijuana patients can purchase medical marijuana from only one dispensary of their choosing which they must register with the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH). Illinois first dispensaries opened on November 9, 2015. The Act is effective until July 1, 2020.
Patients can purchase and possess up to two and a half ounces of marijuana every 14 days. Home cultivation is not permitted.
Illinois Marijuana Decriminalization
On July 29, 2016, Gov. Bruce Rauner signed Senate Bill 2228, which decriminalizes the possession of small amounts of marijuana. The new law, effective immediately, makes possession of up to 10 grams of marijuana a civil offense punishable by just a fine of $100 to $200.
The new law also provides that law enforcement will automatically expunge the marijuana possession civil citation from the record of anyone charged with possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana.
– Illinois Marijuana Card
– Illinois Dispensaries
– Illinois Marijuana Doctors
– Register or Change Your Dispensary