Illinois lawmakers have released the proposed requirements for opening medical marijuana cultivation centers and.
In order for dispensaries to sell marijuana, officials have proposed a $5,000 non-refundable application fee, a $30,000 permit fee, a yearly permit renewal fee of $25,000, and proof of $400,000 in assets.
Cultivation centers will need at least $250,000 in liquid assets, pay a $25,000 non-refundable application fee and pay $200,000 upon approval of a permit, and a renewal fee of $100,000.
The medical marijuana law allows for 22 cultivation centers and 60 dispensaries spread throughout Illinois. The proposed rules call for 13 dispensaries to be located in Chicago, 11 in Cook County, three each in DuPage, Lake, Kane and Will counties, one each in McHenry and DeKalb counties, and one shared between Kendall and Grundy counties.
The rest of the Illinois would get onefor each Illinois State Police district.
Dispensaries and cultivation centers are expected to begin opening later this year.